500 Likes on OPS!

by Travis Normand

I know, not a big deal.  500 likes is a rather pedestrian day for a lot blogs out there, however, for me its a pretty big land mark.  I actually got the 500th-like about a month ago, but I am just now posting it.

I also got my first anniversary medal this past month.  It told me that I had registered on WP 3 years ago but I really only started blogging seriously/regularly during the spring/summer of 2012.    That is when this site (OnePointSafety.com) was finally launched.

Anyway, thanks to everyone for the “likes.”  I am currently sitting at 691 and I look forward to topping the 1,000 mark in the near future.

Ara Parseghian to accept “Contributions to College Football” Award

For Immediate Release
Nov. 28, 2012


FORT WORTH (NCFAA) – Legendary University of Notre Dame football coach Ara Parseghian, who took Fighting Irish from the depths of despair to national prominence in the 1960s and 1970s and later helped establish his own Medical Research Foundation, has been named the recipient of the 11th annual Contributions to College Football Award presented by the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA).

Parseghian, 89, will accept the award on ESPN during The Home Depot College Football Awards, airing live from the Atlantic Dance Hall at Disney’s BoardWalk at the Walt Disney World Resort on Thursday, Dec. 6 at 7:30 p.m. ET.

Continue reading

Notre Dame’s Te’o wins 2012 Bronko Nagurski Trophy

Notre Dame - 16KDec. 3, 2012
For Immediate Release

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (FWAA) – Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te’o, who has helped put the Fighting Irish on the cusp of their first national title in nearly 25 years, claimed the 2012 Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Monday night.

The 6-2, 255-pound senior from Laie, Hawaii, became the 20th winner of the trophy, which annually is awarded to the best defensive player in college football as voted upon by theFootball Writers Association of America (FWAA). Te’o received the award on Monday night at a banquet at the Westin Hotel that is sponsored by the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

“It’s definitely a great accomplishment for me.” Te’o said after receiving the trophy. “I’ve ways wanted to be the best. For this to happen helps me to know I’m heading in the right direction. The formula is the same: Hard work leads to success as long as I keep doing it.”

Coincidentally, his head coach, Brian Kelly, was the keynote speaker at the banquet. Te’o is the first Notre Dame player to win the Bronko Nagurski Trophy and only the second finalist from the school.

To see the original release in full form, click HERE

Maybe Manziel won’t win the Heisman after all

by Travis Normand

While Johnny Manziel is considered to be the front-runner to win the Heisman Trophy this season, he is anything but a “lock” to take home the award.  Manziel is a red-shirt freshman and no freshman has ever won the Heisman, red-shirt or otherwise.

The lingering question is whether or not the Heisman voters are ready to look past his status as a freshman and vote according to what he accomplished “on the field” this season (like they are suppose to do).

If you are looking for any indications as to whether voters are ready for a freshman to take the award, look no further than the 2012 American Football Coaches’ Association All-American team, which was announced this week.

Continue reading

Johnny Manziel’s stats prior to Mizzou

by Travis Normand

Below are Johnny Manziel’s 2012 stats compared to the last 10 Heisman winners. These stats are current through all games minus the Texas A&M vs. Missouri game which is to be played later today.

Player Games Played Rush Yds Rush TDs Pass Yds Pass TDs Tot. Off.
Johnny Manziel (QB) 11 1114 17 3047 21 4161
Collin Klein (QB) 11 787 20 2306 14 3093
Robert Griffin III (QB) 13 699 10 4293 37 4992
Cam Newton (QB) 14 1473 20 2854 30 4327
Mark Ingram (RB) 14 1658 17 n/a n/a 1658
Sam Bradford (QB) 14 47 5 4720 50 4767
Tim Tebow (QB) 13 895 23 3286 32 4181
Troy Smith (QB) 13 204 1 2542 30 2746
Matt Leinart (QB) 13 -44 3 3322 33 3278
Jason White (QB) 13 -56 0 3205 35 3149
Carson Palmer (QB) 13 -122 4 3942 33 3820
Eric Crouch (QB) 12 1115 18 1510 7 2625

All stats used in the above table where found here: http://www.ncaa.com/stats/football/fbs – *Note: If you find any typos or inaccuracies, please let me know by posting a comment below and I will update the table ASAP!  Thank you for the help.

Johnny Manziel plays defense

by Travis Normand

Are you still not convinced that Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel deserves to win the Heisman?  Well if you aren’t convinced by his performance at quarterback this season, then maybe you should take a look at his performance on defense.  What? Manziel plays on offense, defense, and special teams?  Of course!  Okay, not exactly.

Take a look at the following play which occurred against Louisiana Tech on October 13, 2012.  Johnny was in as an offensive player, but due to a fumble by A&M’s Christine Michael, the entire Aggie offense was suddenly playing defense.

Continue reading

2012 Outland Trophy Finalists Announced

Nov. 19, 2012
For Immediate Release


DALLAS (FWAA) -– Three finalists for the Outland Trophy, the third-oldest player award in major college football, were announced by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) on Monday.

Awarded since 1946 to the best interior lineman in college football, the Outland Trophy will be given out for the 67th time early next month to either Alabama center Barrett Jones, Texas A&M offensive tackle Luke Joeckel or North Carolina guard Jonathan Cooper.

Continue reading

Davey O’Brien Finalists Announced

November 19, 2012


FORT WORTH, Texas —  The Davey O’Brien Foundation today announced the three finalists for the 2012 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback.

Collin Klein (Sr., Kansas State), Johnny Manziel (Fr., Texas A&M) and Braxton Miller (So., Ohio State) were selected by the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee, with the Fan Vote accounting for five percent of the total vote. The committee was asked to consider the following criteria: quarterback skills, athletic ability, academics, reputation as a team player, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

Continue reading

2012 Maxwell and Chuck Bednarik Award Finalists

Maxwell Football Club
Press Release
November 19, 2012
Philadelphia, PA

2012 Maxwell and Chuck Bednarik Award Finalists

Maxwell Football Club [MFC] President, Ron Jaworski, announced the 2012 finalists for the 76th Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year and the 18th Chuck Bednarik Award for the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year.

The respective lists include a field of three candidates for each of these awards as determined by the Semifinalist voting process which ended on Nov. 18.

Continue reading