2012 Outland Trophy Finalists Announced

Nov. 19, 2012
For Immediate Release


DALLAS (FWAA) -– Three finalists for the Outland Trophy, the third-oldest player award in major college football, were announced by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) on Monday.

Awarded since 1946 to the best interior lineman in college football, the Outland Trophy will be given out for the 67th time early next month to either Alabama center Barrett Jones, Texas A&M offensive tackle Luke Joeckel or North Carolina guard Jonathan Cooper.

Jones, the 2011 Outland Trophy winner as an offensive tackle, will be seeking to become only the second player in the award’s rich history to win it twice. Nebraska center Dave Rimington claimed back-to-back Outland Trophies in 1981 and ’82.

The FWAA selects a 26-man All-America team, which will be announced on Dec. 14. The Outland finalists are interior linemen members of that team as selected by the association’s award committee, with input from the membership.

This year’s Outland Trophy winner will be revealed on ESPN during The Home Depot College Football Awardsairing live from the Atlantic Dance Hall at Disney’s BoardWalk at the Walt Disney World Resort on Thursday, Dec. 6 at 7:30 p.m. ET.

Jones, who followed previous Alabama Outland Trophy winners, offensive tackles Chris Samuels (1999) and Andre Smith (2008), as the 2011 winner, is one of the most versatile and productive linemen in college football. He has played guard, tackle and center on two national championship teams at Alabama. The 6-5, 302-pound senior from Germantown, Tenn., is also a finalist for the William V. Campbell Trophy, the “Academic Heisman” that is presented by the National Football Foundation.

Joeckel, a 6-6, 310-pound junior from Arlington, Texas, is one of the mainstays of the powerful Texas A&M offensive line that has made quite an impact in the school’s first season in the Southeastern Conference. He has helped protect freshman quarterback sensation Johnny Manziel during his rookie season. Joeckel had a big game blocking in the Aggies’ upset of top-ranked Alabama in Tuscaloosa. Nationally, Texas A&M ranks 14th in rushing, 17th in passing, fifth in total offense and sixth in scoring offense. Texas A&M has never had an Outland Trophy winner or finalist.

Cooper, a 6-3, 305-pound senior from Wilmington, N.C., has been a standout lineman in the Atlantic Coast Conference this season and has not allowed a sack. He has been named ACC Offensive Lineman of the Week twice through games of Nov. 10. He has been one of the main reasons that North Carolina tailback Giovani Bernard has been one of the country’s top rushers. Cooper is seeking to become North Carolina’s inaugural Outland Trophy winner and the first from the ACC since North Carolina State’s Jim Ritcher in 1979. He is the first Outland finalist from UNC.

The Outland Trophy, named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn in the late 1800s, will be officially presented on Jan. 10, 2013, in Omaha, Neb., at a banquet sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee. At the same banquet, Arkansas defensive tackle Loyd Phillips will receive an Outland Trophy. He was the 1966 winner of the award before trophies were handed out by the FWAA.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s